Motherhood, Marriage and Other Wild Rides

Health, Happiness and the Pursuit of Mommyhood

Fun Things to Do with Your Family this Weekend #3 July 17, 2008

Have you made any plans for the weekend? I have a few ideas for you and your kids!

Create a Family Phrase Book.

Rather than downloading and printing pics for the photo album, why not start a compendium of all the cute, zany, hilariously unintelligible and downright heart-melting things your kids say? (This idea comes from my inability to assemble a scrapbook, overridden by my desire to remember all the precious moments. My husband keeps our photos organized on the computer, not to worry!) Here are a few gems from my three-year-old, Joseph:

  • “Hey, do you want to go to Christmas? Get your raincoat!”  Now that Joseph is three, his imagination has run wild. His “raincoat” was a scarf he’d pulled from the front hall closet. Hey, I’d love to go to Christmas.
  • “I can feel my poops in my nose.”  Joseph rather poetically said this when he caught the aroma of, well, his toots. It took us a moment to decipher it, and then we all cracked up.
  • “I can’t want it!”  This was his rendition of “no thank you” for a while. Can a person not be able to want something? We finally convinced him to decline in a more dignified manner, but to this day, my husband and I replace “no” with this puzzling phrase.
  • “I make you beautiful, mommy.”  This was Joseph’s reassurance to me one day when I was disappointed about something. I don’t remember what the let-down was, but I am certain that whatever beauty I have, my family is responsible for it.
I present you with the best chicken recipe your family has ever had! 

Crusty Herbed Chicken
While this gluten-free recipe calls for baking skinless chicken thighs, the result is similar to a breaded and spiced, fried chicken dish–without the fat and flour! The idea for this flavorful recipe came when I was first exploring food-pairing and the low-glycemic diet. This easy, summer dish makes an impressive large-batch dish for family reunions and picnics. (For more great recipes, please visit my blog UnassumingFoodie.com.)

Future Environmentalists Club

Helen Coronato, author of Eco-Friendly Families, reports, “by raising our children with a strong sense of respect and reverence for Earth, we help ensure that there will be adults to step into ecological leadership positions.” The following are excerpts from her wonderful new book:
Opt for natural sunscreens that contain ingredients like shea butter, jojoba oil, zincs and green tea. A study from the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition has shown that increasing your vitamin A an additional 25 mg and vitamin E an additional 335 mg can help diminish your body’s sensitivity to UV light.

Have your kids outgrown their shoes? Before you shop for back-to-school, think globally: recycle your children’s shoes through these great resources:

  • www.Soles4Souls.com accepts gently worn shoes and delivers them to people in need, like Hurricane Katrina victims.
  • Ashes to ashes and Crocs to dust. When your kid’s Crocs get too tight, mail them to 1510 Nelson Road, Longmont, CO 80501, and they’ll be shredded to make children’s playground. Clearly mark the outside of your package, “Recycle.”
  • Nike’s Reuse-A-Shoe Program accepts all brands of athletic shoes and grinds them up for new sports surfaces, like basketball courts. Check out www.letmeplay.com/reuseashoe for a drop-off location near you.

Submit your family’s fun weekend activities—The best ones will be featured here!
Looking for more weekend ideas? Fun Things To Do archived entries:
Fun Things to Do With Your Family This Weekend #2
Fun Things To Do With Your Family This Weekend #1

 

Leave a Reply

