Motherhood, Marriage and Other Wild Rides

Health, Happiness and the Pursuit of Mommyhood

Appearing on The Doctors on CBS! September 17, 2008

Tune in to The Doctors, a brand new show on CBS, on Thursday, October 2 to see me “in person” as I discuss infant potty training with the amazing Dr. Jim Sears and Dr. Travis Stork. Covering a broad range of subjects, especially news-breaking, topical issues, the show features on-set medical procedures, either directly in front of the studio audience or in its backstage examining room, and off-site “house calls,” The Doctors features down-to-earth discussions of emotional and psychological issues and real-life experiences of the show’s guests. It’s very fast-paced, informative and entertaining.

I’ll admit I was very nervous about going onstage in front of a live audience. Inside, I was shaking like a leaf, but I had every reason to remain happy, calm and share our story of early potty training with all the confidence and love our experience has gifted us; I was, after all, talking about the people in my life who I love the most. I also had the good fortune of spending time before the shoot with the makers of the Baby Signs Potty Training Kit, Dr. Linda Acredolo and Dr. Susan Goodwyn. These warm, fascinating women were an absolute treat to meet, and both my husband—on hand lending his love and support—and I were so impressed with them both. I also must mention the encouragement, professionalism and humor of producer Lauree Dash, who helped me to put aside my nervousness and speak from my heart as a mother.   

As a writer of family health and parenting issues, I count on certain heroes—the “go-to” people in children’s health who can be trusted, and who share information for parents in an easy-to-understand format that is up-to-date, applicable and useful. So, you might imagine how thrilled I was to meet Dr. Jim Sears, a pediatrician who travels the country speaking about the importance of good family nutrition and the vital role that nutrition plays in a variety of medical and behavioral problems. A passionate writer, Dr Jim has had articles appear in Parenting and BabyTalk magazine, and Parenting.com‘s “Ask the Experts,” is an active contributor to the content of AskDrSears.com, and is co-author of The Healthiest Kid in the Neighborhood (Little, Brown 2006), Father’s First Steps – Twenty-Five Things Every New Father Should Know, (Harvard Common Press 2006). The Premature Baby Book (Little, Brown 2004), The Baby Sleep Book (Little, Brown 2006) and the best selling The Baby Book – Revised Edition (Little, Brown 2003). Dr. Jim has also been featured on Dr. Phil and the PBS parenting series, “Help Me Grow.”

Click here to see my clip!

 

5 Responses to “Appearing on The Doctors on CBS!”

  1. I have a bad problem,I`m going thru menopause. I`m 53 years young and I`ve bein going thru this for about 20years
    now and I am suffering believe me. Its like cooking with A
    oven 24 hours a day.(its miserable).I keep the air conditioner
    on all the time.and in the winter I have to sleep with a fan on.
    I feel sorry for my husband.I also have I.T.P. and lupus and heart trouble,my heart stops then starts then beats so fast I
    can`t count the heart beats.The doctors here tell me I just have to suffer with it. I sweat at night so bad that I soak my
    bed, and by morning my hair is so yet I can wring it out and
    it woud drip.Is there anything that can make the sweats go away? With heart trouble being hot makes me have dizzy spells
    and I feel like I`m gonna pass out. the heat takes to much out
    of me.It`s miserable.I take care of my husband he`s A diabetic
    and age of 66years young.If you could help me I would be so grateful.LoL Mary Anna Vasquez

  2. Engage In Your Following Journey With Confidence With Such Easy Traveling Recommendations!

  3. This design is steller! You obviously know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.

    Too cool!

  4. It’s going to be finish of mine day, except before ending I am reading this enormous article to increase my know-how.

  5. black teas Says:

    Thank you for some other excellent post. Where else could anyone get
    that type of information in such a perfect approach of writing?
    I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the look for such info.


Leave a Reply

