Motherhood, Marriage and Other Wild Rides

Health, Happiness and the Pursuit of Mommyhood

NewsBreak Column: Oh, Thank God! March 2, 2009

The following was published in San Clemente Presbyterian’s NEWSBREAK magazine. Editors are welcome to use it as a FREE REPRINT, simply by adding my byline. 

My favorite prayer is thank you. When I chose to give up “my way” and surrendered to God’s plan for me, every facet of my world turned from darkness to light. Looking back, I realize how He used my hardships to transform me. A dissolved marriage gave me tremendous gratitude for my new husband—and inspires me to be a better wife; Failed attempts at having a baby make me an enormously committed and enthusiastic parent.
 
For all our Father has done for us, He is worthy of praise—yet His will is done through you and me. When someone helps in even the smallest way, sharing your gratitude satisfies the longing we all have for recognition, and acknowledges His presence and power.
 
Now, for the first time in my life, I’ve struggled to find work. For months. Feeling unwanted in the workplace and failing to contribute financially has challenged my self-image, and made me just a little ungrateful. Rather than pray for things to change for me, I need to begin praying to be changed for things.
 
It would be easy to blame the economy or outside conditions, but God is not swayed by these things. With God all things are possible, but more importantly, what God would have us do is what we want to do. Best of all, we can’t fail when following His plan.
 
The marketplace has changed, but so have my priorities. Truthfully, there is nowhere I’d rather be than with my children, and that’s squarely where God has placed me. I was reinvented the day I became a mother, and I will be transformed again when God reveals my next calling.
 
He would have no means of transforming us if we blindly went along without a bump in the road to direct us to a new chapter of His plan for us. The waiting seems unbearable, but let’s not mistake delay for denial. He will show us the way, in His good time.  As T.S. Eliot wrote, “To make an end is to make a beginning.”
 
My job now, it would seem, is simply to be grateful.

 

2 Responses to “NewsBreak Column: Oh, Thank God!”

  1. Beverly Says:

    I love this post!!

  2. rjlacko Says:

    Thanks, Beverly! That means a lot coming from you!
    -Rebecca


Leave a Reply

