Motherhood, Marriage and Other Wild Rides

Health, Happiness and the Pursuit of Mommyhood

Hacking Buzz Lightyear Astro Blasters Ride At Disneyland May 13, 2009

As one of millions of parents who has watched Pixar’s Toy Story movies ad nauseam, paid the sizeable entrance fee to Disneyland, stood in endless lines to experience the magic of a 2-minute ride with their offspring, shouldn’t we grown-ups enjoy just the teeniest edge at a few rides?

Dad Danny Sullivan thinks so. A few years ago, he posted his tips for hacking the Buzz Lightyear ride in Tomorrowland at Disneyland in order to post the day’s highest score. Summer is almost upon us, and many will be visiting The Magic Kingdom. Now is our chance!

As Rex says in Toy Story 2: “You know, they make it so you can’t defeat Zurg unless you buy this book. It’s extortion!”

I have to sheepishly admit why I’m personally so interested. My husband is a lifelong video game fanatic—He has played it all. I barely played Pacman back in the day, and aside from a little Bejeweled, I’m hopeless. However! When we went on this ride, I held both my squirming boys while working our ion blasters, and he rode by himself, unecumbered. When the ride was done, mysteriously I’d scored THREE times the points he had! Could I be the next person to defeat Emperor Zurg? Could I?!?

 Read Sullivan’s tips here. To infinity, and beyond!

 

Leave a Reply

