Motherhood, Marriage and Other Wild Rides

Health, Happiness and the Pursuit of Mommyhood

Fiction novel writing update – Euphoric uncertainty April 1, 2010

Filed under: Fiction book writing — rjlacko @ 12:51 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I am hitting my head against the wall daily, but I’m SO EXCITED! I love the process of writing my novel, as painful as it all is. (See Fiction novel writing… begins with the first sentence, first word.)

The story is about an Orange County (Southern California) based family. Beginning the day after the mother’s funeral, the first scene  occurs the family’s car dealership in Capistrano Beach. The father, Mike Hayden, has spent his life trying to make up for his own father’s mistakes, pouring his heart and countless hours into building the family business–without much success. For years, he looked forward to his oldest child, Liam, joining him. At age 25, Liam has made it abundantly clear he wants nothing to do with the dealership. Liam would rather go to culinary school and plan lavish parties, leaving Mike heart-broken. His young daughter Treva, on the other hand, is doing everything she can just to get a foot in the door. Mike knows his business hasn’t amounted to much, and tries to thwart her interest and involvement, but Treva has never taken ‘no’ for an answer. She knows she can turn the business around, but more importantly, she wants to finally earn her father’s attention and admiration. 

Today, I spent some time with Steve Turner of Mercedes Benz of Laguna Niguel. With 23 years of experience, Steve was very helpful with providing some preliminary research on the car sales industry and introduced me to a gentleman who began working at his family’s used car dealership when he was five years old. A goldmine interviewee!

I have clearly outlined 35 chapters over five acts. I know when and how my characters will reveal information, when they will triumph, when they will fail, and yet I’m holding them so delicately in my hands, unfolding their stories slowly and thoughtfully. I am trying to pace my scenes so that I’m not too quick (don’t want to overlook important details) but at times I feel like it might be coming off a little “Lifetime” channel, which I don’t want–although that style is very marketable. I just want to avoid being a cheeseball, but also avoid taking myself too seriously. I want it to be energetic and contemporary but maintain intrigue, quality and character development

It’s a bittersweet process, but the more I try to write it, the more satisfaction I get. Of course I am obsessing over every word, and I am certain all of it sucks. But I can’t stop the process and I wouldn’t give it up without a fight! It’s a euphoric uncertainty.

 

2 Responses to “Fiction novel writing update – Euphoric uncertainty”

  1. Good luck on your writing efforts!


Leave a Reply

