Motherhood, Marriage and Other Wild Rides

Health, Happiness and the Pursuit of Mommyhood

Emergency appendectomy?! And how to heal gall stones naturally April 15, 2010

This week has been a tough one. And it’s only Thursday.

On the weekend, we realized our boys had gotten lice. Eew, I know. I don’t think it was from school, because they have checked everyone and washed everything, and no lice were found. We did go see How To Train Your Dragon, so it’s possible we could have gotten it at the movie theatre. All it takes is a strand of infected hair. Let me emphasize: lice is the last thing you want your children to have. Our boys are both sporting buzz cuts now, and we are (fingers crossed!) lice free.

Beginning Monday, we were of course housebound, which means the kids were bouncing off the walls. And then they started to develop coughs. And then suddenly my side started to hurt. I just wanted to go to bed, and the pain got worse and worse. I went to see the doctor on Tuesday morning, and it was difficult to diagnose what was happening because I was presenting symptoms of acute appendicitis, but the pain was around my gallbladder. So, off to an ultrasound. Same problem. The tech was looking for my appendix, but I was complaining of pain around my gallbladder. So, off to a CT scan. We find out my appendix has traveled up and was next to my gall bladder–which happens to be filled with large stones.

Nearly everyone has gallstones, but mine are pretty large. This is very unusual for me, because gallstones are typically the result of a high-fat, high-sugar diet. But, I digress. By the time I was out of the CT scan and back in my clothes, the radiologist and my doctor were making plans to admit me to the hospital to have my appendix out that evening. Fantastic!

So, here I am, a day and half past my laparoscopic appendectomy. I’m tired, sore and I look like I have three bullet holes in my tummy. (I’m told the scars will be very small, however.) This weekend, we are celebrating Noah’s 3rd birthday at a waterpark–I guess I’ll be poolside with a full cover up. Or maybe I shoot bite the bullet and just buy a one-piece for once?

Anyway, they want me to go back in to remove my gall bladder. I’m having none of it. Surgery is no small walk in the park. Full anesthesia? no thanks! Scary stuff. And just why has this happened? Gall stones are the result of excessive intake of refined carbohydrates, especially sugar. I haven’t eaten refined carbs in years. And sugar? Only on special occasions! I absolutely hate fried food, and I don’t think I overdo high-cholestrol foods such as eggs or cheese. (Maybe I eat too much chocolate–but even then, I only eat 70% or higher cacao.) I wear size 4 and sometimes 2, which means I’m not over-eating, especially not bad-for-me foods. I’m not a candidate for stones! And I’m not going to take this lying down… especially not on a surgical table. 

Upon further investigation,  I learned that other causes of gallstones are chronic constipation (ahem, that’s me), hereditary factors (I was adopted, so I really don’t know) and stress (I think I live a pretty peaceful life. Well, up until this week.). The Chinese relate gall-bladder disorders with the emotion of anger. I have two beautiful sons and a wonderful husband who loves me. I wouldn’t describe me as “angry.” Oh, and usually gallstones patients are over the age of sixty!

I also found a website that says: “An estimated twenty million Americans have gallbladder disease and approximately 750,000 of them will have their gallbladder removed this year.  The gallbladder  has become a prime target for surgical intervention; in fact, this is the most common type of major surgery….Approximately 80% of all gallstones show no symptoms and may remain”silent” for years. Once symptoms arise, they persist and increase in frequency. The most common triggers for gallbladder attacks are caffeine, chocolate, eggs, dairy products (especially ice cream) and greasy or deep fried foods.”

Some reports claim homeopathy is an effective method of getting rid of gallstones, citing nux vomica, berberis vulagaris and lycopodium as extremely effective. Dandelion and rosemary are effective herbal remedies for gallstones. These two herbs should be added to your meals on a daily basis and you will notice a remarkable change in one to two weeks.

I found a cleanse and fast on several websites that is more or less identical (just slight variations on different sites) that I intend to try. It involves eating 4-5 apples every day for 5 days (to soften the stones) and then on the 5th day, fast on nothing but apples and raw, pressed apple juice, and then at bedtime warm two thirds of a cup of virgin olive oil to body heat and mix with one third a cup of fresh raw lemon juice. The addition of a kidney bean sized peice of raw garlic finely sliced and added to the olive oil and lemon juice mixture will help further. Slowly sip the entire mixture, and then go straight to bed lying on your right side, with the right leg drawn up. In the morning stones will be passed in the stool. Testimonials on several of the sites I read stated that I will see between 40-100 stones! And, once the stones were gone, patients said overwhelmingly that they had more energy and clarity. One problem with gallstones is fatigue. I thought mine was from preschoolers–I could certainly use more energy for parenting!

This procedure may need to be repeated several times for complete clearance of the gall bladder and the liver. I’m going to try it. What have I got to lose, except an(other) appointment with the scalpel? Better go eat another apple!

Curious what happened next? Read, Healing Gallstones Naturally, A Closer Look.

 

One Response to “Emergency appendectomy?! And how to heal gall stones naturally”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I drank 32oz of apple juice a day for five days. Each day I put 1 tspn of “standard process phosfood liquid” in my apple juice. On the 5th night I mixed juice from one whole lemon into 1 cup of olive oil. I stirred it up and drank immedietly. You lay on your RIGHT side for 30 minuets in fetal position. no less. After 30 min you can relax in any position and go to sleep. I woke up 3 times in the middle of the night to go the toilet. I passed emerald green stones, around 80 or more. This is 100 times better than surgery.


Leave a Reply

